This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow More info

Listen to this page

Text size A A A Accessibility

Fire Authority

As of 15th November 2018, the North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Authority’s governance of the North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service passed to Julia Mulligan as the North Yorkshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner. 

This change comes after the Home Secretary approved the Local Business Case to transfer governance arrangements on 13th June 2018. 

Further information on the new governance arrangements can be found at


Information about The Fire Authority Pre November 15th 2018

North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Authority came into being in April 1996 when local government re-organisation created a Combined Fire Authority (CFA) representing the areas of North Yorkshire County Council and the City of York Council.

Functions of the Fire Authority

The duties and powers of the new Combined Fire Authority are contained within the Fire and Rescue Services Act, 2004. This prescribes the framework within which all fire authorities must operate. The Fire Authority has specific responsibilities in directing and monitoring the role of the Fire Service. 

Members of the Fire Authority

Members of the Fire Authority are elected from each of the two authorities. The number of members for each authority is determined by the size of the electoral representation within each authority. The proportional representation is shown below:

North Yorkshire County Council: 12 Seats
City of York Council: 4 Seats 

The membership of the Authority up to 14th November 2018 is set out below:

Non Voting Members:

Julia Mulligan- North Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner
Steve Howley- North Yorkshire Fire Brigades Union, Brigade Secretary 

Val Arnold Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Keith Aspden Liberal Democrat City of York Council

Andrew Backhouse (Chair) Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Philip Barrett Independent North Yorkshire County Council

David Blades Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

David Ireton Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Lars Kramm Green City of York Council 

Stanley Lumley Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Stuart Martin MBE Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Danny Myers Labour City of York Council

Chris Pearson  Conservative  North Yorkshire County Council

Tony Randerson Labour North Yorkshire County Council

Tony Richardson (Vice-Chair) Conservative City of York Council

Helen Swiers Conservative North Yorkshire County Council

Geoff Webber Liberal Democrat North Yorkshire County Council

Robert Windass Conservative North Yorkshire County Council


Breaking news Rss
  • Sun 26 Jan
    Incident Summary - Night Shift Saturday 25th January
  • Sat 25 Jan
    Incident Summary, day shift Saturday 25th January
  • Sat 25 Jan
    Incident Summary Night Shift – Friday 24th January 2020
Wholetime firefighter recruitment
For the first time in 10 years we’re recruiting Wholetime Read more
On Call (Retained) firefighter recruitment
On this page you can find out more about the Read more