Congratulations to our Annual Awards Winners

Published 27th Nov 2023

Exceptional public service recognised at fire service and police annual awards ceremony 

The Joint Annual Awards Ceremony for North Yorkshire Police and North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service was held at Sandburn Hall near York on Friday 24 November 2023.  

Hosted by Police Fire and Crime Commissioner Zoë Metcalfe, Chief Fire Officer Jonathan Dyson and Chief Constable Lisa Winward guests heard stories of outstanding work, exemplary service, bravery and dedication to duty.  

Commissioner Zoë said: “The ceremony is an important opportunity to highlight the extraordinary work that our brave officers, firefighters, volunteers and police and fire staff provide – both on the front line and behind the scenes – to go above and beyond for our communities, helping people to be safe and feel safe wherever they are and whatever they are doing.

“I was delighted to be there, supporting these awards in their eighth year for North Yorkshire Police and third year in collaboration with North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service, as well as staff working within our collaborative shared services functions.

“The awards are designed to recognise and celebrate exceptional service to the public and provide inspiration for people inside and outside of the services who want to do their part as well. 

“My congratulations go to everyone. I am very proud of all the wonderful work being done by both the winners and nominees.”

Chief Fire Office Jonathan Dyson said: “I am proud to honour our staff and recognise their incredible achievements at the Annual Awards Ceremony. The evening was a wonderful celebration of their efforts and hugely uplifting. Thank you to all the winners for their commitment and outstanding contribution to the Service and our communities. Congratulations!”  

And the winners are… 

Public Choice Award 

  • Temporary Crew Manager Jon Hancock- Winner 

Temporary Crew Manager Jon Hancock won the public choice award for the support he gives to his colleagues and community, through his involvement in the fire cadet scheme and charity fundraising. 

  • Youth Engagement Team- nominee 
  • Capabilities Team -nominee 
  • Operational Training Administrator Shelley Mattocks- nominee 

Leadership Award: Group Manager Marc Warren 

Marc strives for high standards and quality outcomes for the public and is a much respected member of the Middle Manager team. He never seeks praise for his action and is well deserving of this recognition for his many years of dedicated service to his colleagues, teams and the public. 

Innovational and Problem Solving Award: Interim Senior Management Information System and Capabilities Administration Coordinator Sian Davis 

Since taking on the role of Interim Senior Management Information System and Capabilities Administration Coordinator Sian has showed vigour, determination and passion to bring together the team. Her desire to improve and develop the reputation of the service is relentless and she persists in her professional approach to supporting other departments and colleagues.  

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award: Youth Engagement Facilities Team 

The Youth Engagement Team deliver significant, sometimes life changing results for children and young people. The team always strive to improve outcomes for young people by helping them develop practical, communication and teamwork skills, allowing them to grow in confidence and resilience.  

Lifetime Achievement Award: Station Manager Graeme Casper 

Graeme has worked for the Service for 39 years and has shown commitment to excellence throughout his career. He has had many roles within the Service and has always adapted to change and been proactive in finding new ways for us to deliver services to the public.  

Lifetime Achievement Award: Training Centre Administrator Shelley Mattocks 

Shelley has worked for the Service since 2007 having previously worked at Hereford and Worcester Fire and Rescue Service. She received multiple nominations all highlighting her ‘can do’ attitude and her extensive knowledge of the service. She goes above and beyond her role on a daily basis,  embodies our values and is an absolute credit to Service. 

Team of the Year Award: Capabilities Team (Sian Davies, Sophie Brownridge, Julie Deakin, Carole McLernon, Stacy Burman, Joanne Pea, Beverley Short, Wendy Goodall, Katie Dunn, Janine Millard, Kay Adkin, Charlotte Jones) 

The capabilities Team provide many vital and often rarely recognised functions. They are a vital and trusted partner who maintain critical business as usual systems whilst also supporting service improvements and change. They are always looking for ways to help and so much of the Service relies on the invaluable work the team complete. 

Volunteer of the Year Award: Firefighter Terence Gregg 

Terence is a firefighter at Acomb and through his personal efforts has raised hundreds of thousands of pounds for charities over the year. He is passionate about making a difference to communities and he is a key part of the annual bonfire nights always looking for ways to expand the event to engage more widely with the community. 

Staff Member of the Year Award: Safeguarding Manager Hannah Oakley 

Hannah is the single point of contact within the Service for all safeguarding issues, she manages an active caseload of work and helps prepare the Service for new legislation or changes to legislation relating to safeguard to help ensure we safeguard effectively.  She works tirelessly behind the scenes to service the public and support the Service and always goes above and beyond what is required of her. 

Firefighter of the Year Award: Temporary Crew Manager Jon Hancock 

Jon embodies what it mans to be a role model firefighter. He has undertaken the role of lead instructor for Richmond’s fire cadets for several years, mentoring students through their BTEC qualification.  He has also organised and supported the students to undertake other activities including several charitable fundraising events and he has been heavily involved in wider youth engagement within the district. He always seeks to go beyond his job description and find opportunities to engage and support the local community. 

Unsung Hero of the Year Award: Station Manager Prevention Adam Farrow 

Adam is committed to delivering not just a service but the highest quality service to the public, he is constantly looking for way to improve our offering and is passionate about supporting his team to learn and grow. He will challenge what he believes is ethically questionable and is quick to respond to anything which risks the public’s or the team’s safety. 

Collaboration Award: Fire Payroll and Pensions 

The payroll and pensions team have undertaken key and challenging pieces of work. The work they do often goes unnoticed and unrecognised.  They are always approachable and support decision making with their expert knowledge, demonstrating the best of what a team can deliver. 

Community Engagement Award: Public Safety Service (Alice Michelmore-Brown, firefighter Robbie Kirkbride, Crew Manager Craig Lyons) 

The Public Safety Service works with all the blue light partners in the Craven district and was recognised as ‘promising practice’ by His Majesty Inspectorate of Constabulary and Fire and Rescue Service (HMICFRS). The Public Safety Officers offer all partner services in one visit, for example attending as community first responders and then following up later to complete a Safe and Well check for vulnerable people, and then making referrals to help support them.